This article analyzes whether there are historical and legal grounds for Western Armenia to become a Member of the United Nations in accordance with the Sevres Peace Treaty. For this reason, the author explores the historical circumstances under which the Sevres Peace Treaty is, on the one hand, a peace treaty signed by the allied powers and the Ottoman Empire, and on the other hand, ultimately signed by them, but never implemented.

For the same reason, the article relating to the Sevres Peace Treaty provides arguments regarding the legal obligations of the parties to the multilateral treaty, which were signed by the “High Contracting Parties”, but did not enter into force in accordance with its provisions.

According to President Armenag Abrahamian, in response to this very interesting study, even if the Sevres Peace Treaty was not ratified by all parties, such as France, it was used by parties that did not ratify it, for example: France, Great Britain and Italy, when it came to the protection of civilians. To better understand the ratification system of the signatories, it is necessary to study the national constitutions of each signatory, including the Ottoman Empire (Turkey).

For example, on July 22, 1920, after the Sovereignty Council of Mehmed VI, the Sultan ordered the signing of the Treaty of Sevres, which was equivalent to ratification based on the Ottoman Constitution. The reparations figures presented in this study do not take into account the entire period of the genocide, as well as the characteristics presented by Pogos Nubar at the peace conference in Paris in February 1919.

The Armenians, among other things, should demand the ratification of the Sevres Peace Treaty from the signatory countries. The demand for treaty changes is part of Turkey’s anti-Armenian, clearly anti-Western Armenian policy. The Peace Treaty, commonly known as the Sevres Peace Treaty, has never been subjected to such an aggressive policy. To try to replace the Sevres Peace Treaty, unable to revise it, they organized the Alexandropol Peace Treaty (December 2, 1920), the Moscow Peace Treaty (March 16, 1921), the Kars Peace Treaty (October 20, 1921), the Angora Treaty (October 20, 1921), the Lausanne Treaty (July 24, 1923), the Treaty between the Kurdish organization “Haibun” and the party “Dashnaktsutyun” (1927), the Political Resolution of the European Parliament on the Armenian issue (June 18, 1987), earthquake in Soviet Armenia (December 7, 1988), the first Artsakh War, Destruction of the Armenian cemetery in Dzhuga (December 14, 2005), the second war in Artsakh, in accordance with agreements with Azerbaijan. All this was not enough and will not be enough to replace the Sevres Peace Treaty and deter the demands of Western Armenia.