In the list of UNESCO World Heritage List, the Republic of Armenia is represented by the monastery complexes Sanahin and Haghpat, the Mother See of Echmiadzin, and churches (St. Hripsime, St. Gayane, Zvartnots), the basin of the upper reaches of the Azat River (Garni) and the Geghard Monastery. On the territory of the Islamic Republic of Iran, there are three more monuments representing Armenian culture on the UNESCO World Heritage List – the Armenian monastery of S. Tade, Tsortsori monasteries of St. Mariam, and St. Stepanos. The masterpiece of the world’s cultural heritage of UNESCO is the music of the Armenian duduk, Armenian khachkars, the epic “Sasna Tsrer” and Armenian lavash. A number of monuments on the territory of Western Armenia are also protected by UNESCO.

Leave a Reply