The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Artsakh has issued a statement on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Treaty of Sevres.

In particular, the statement reads:

“100 years ago, on August 10, 1920, a peace treaty was signed in Sevres, on the one hand, by the main allies British Empire, France, Italy, Japan, as well as their allies Armenia, Belgium, Greece, and Hejaz (now: Saudi Arabia), Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia-Croatia-Slovenia, Czechoslovakia, and on the other hand, by Turkey, which lost in World War I. The treaty proved the right of the Armenians to the historical Armenian territories of the Armenian Highlands.

The provisions of the Treaty of Sevres concerning Armenia have not been implemented due to a number of international and regional political processes. However, the treaty has never been declared invalid and remains relevant to this day”.