UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) was established on November 16, 1945 in London by the governments of 37 countries, and was the official successor to the forgotten Institute of Intellectual International Cooperation, established in 1925.

The purpose of establishing this specialized UN body was to promote peace and security by enhancing cooperation in the fields of education, science and culture for the benefit of justice, the rule of law and human rights, as well as universal respect for fundamental freedoms for all peoples without discrimination on the basis of race, sex, language or religion.

UNESCO currently has 193 member states, 2 observer states and 11 associate members.

During these days, more than ever, UNESCO’s response to the preservation of Armenian historical monuments in Artsakh is important, as the Azerbaijani-Turkish terrorist group has always been distinguished by its brutal treatment of historical and cultural monuments.