On November 3, 1920, four months after the adoption of the Treaty of Sevres, Brazil recognized the state of Armenia within the borders of Western Armenia.

Decree 14,456 was adopted by the Brazilian Parliament and ratified by President Epitacio Pessoa on November 3, 1920.

On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the decision-making, the Embassy of the Republic of Armenia in Brazil referred to this important historical event on its Facebook page.